MAKENA BAY HOUSE · MAUI · HAWAII

Testimonials

Most idyllic location in Maui: away from the busier centres of Kihei and Lahaina, located in Makena Landing. Small beach located a stones throw North of the cottage (1 minute walk), which is a great place to launch your paddle boards or kayaks. Great snorkeling on both the South side of the bay or the North side of the bay. The latter is deeper and a longer swim out, but this can be reduced if u take a kayak/paddle board out and tie up to one of the buoys out there. If you are a real keen snorkeler this is a great spot to call your vacation home. We went out every morning before the winds and the guide boats showed up. We encountered a resting white tip reef shark, spotted eagle rays, a seal, copious amounts of turtles, all the traditional Hawaiian reef fish and the very well camouflaged frog fish. Back to the hot tub for a longboard lager by 10am. Ya 'hot tub'! I never thought I would be in a hot tub in Hawaii...the thought is almost laughable, but it was fantastic after a few hours in the water. The outdoor shower was awesome...I don't think I ever showered in-doors. The house is very nicely appointed and has all the amenities one could require. Great communication on behalf of the owners. Definately recommend!

R and C (October 2012)

------------------------------------------------------

First of all let me say that it is often difficult to find a) a place for just one couple, and b) a truly spectacular view that also affords you some privacy. We loved our stay in this home so much that we actually ended up cooking at home halft the nights as there was no restaurant that could give us a better table to watch the sunset. Further, where else can you relax and watch the sea turtles come up and play right at your shore? So yes it is exactly as advertised.......everything was well maintained, the hot tub and outdoor shower especially nice......really just for a couple or for a family of four......we would definately stay here again.

B and J (April 2012)

------------------------------------------------------

MAHALO! We had a wonderful time! The lanai downstairs was absolutely perfect for a post-Maui Marathon massage! We took advantage of the snorkeling and lounge chairs. Beautiful! Dinner here on the deck at sunset was amazing. Thank you for sharing your lovely place with us! We loved the privacy,the view and just about everything about this place. Thanks again!

Lesley and Nick (September 2011)

------------------------------------------------------

Lovely, lovely, lovely. The longer we stayed the more we fell in love with the place and surroundings. We wanted a getaway spot to celebrate Grace's 50th birthday and this was it. We took a trip into busy Kihei to really appreciate the calm, the view, and the privacy. Your home has all the amenities.  We found whale watching best between 4:30-6:00pm. You have some great beaches nearby but we enjoyed the bluff and the deck more. Thank you so much.

Al and Grace (March 2011)

------------------------------------------------------

Good Times!! Some highlights of our stay we will fondly remember:
- Snorkeling in front of house  - Outstanding view and sunsets - Sounds of waves while you drift off to sleep - Peace and quiet - Outdoor shower

We found the house to be well thought out and well equipped and loved the "outdoor living space". We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon. We love the Makena area the best. Truly loved your piece of paradise and thank you for having us. Mahalo!

Garth and Shelley (January 2011)

------------------------------------------------------

Thank you so much for the use of your awesome home! It was the perfect location for a perfect vacation! Your house had everything we needed from kitchen to laundry. We prepared most of our meals in because you can't get any better than an oceanfront table!  The sunsets were mangnificent. We were able to see turtles while sitting on the lawn chairs! The beaches nearby were easy to get to for snorkeling & swimming. Having internet and phone access kept us in touch with "reality" when we wanted. Your home has created some very special memories. We have been to Maui many times and this home was incredible and will rent it again when we return.

Allan and Nancy (November 2010)

------------------------------------------------------

It is difficult to tear ourselves away!  The house was extrememly comfortable and we found ourselves preferring to eat "at home" rather than going out.  It was our first trip to Maui, but it won't be our last.  Thanks!

Jana and David (November 2010)

------------------------------------------------------

We had a wonderful time and cannot think of anything that was not perfect.  We made it back home, with great memories of our week on Maui.  We loved the house, and the location, and appreciated to be able to use the kayak and snorkeling gear.  We will keep fond memories of the sunsets in Makena.  Thank you again for allowing us to use your house.  We will most certainly be back.

Philippe and Corine (October 2010)

------------------------------------------------------

I cannot begin to tell you what a wonderful trip we had.  The Makena house is exceptional!  I seriously felt this could have been our own home.  It was paradise each and every day of our vacation!  Thank you for sharing your home!

Chris and Linda (September 2010)

------------------------------------------------------

JUST WHAT WE NEEDED!  RELAXING, GREAT LOCATION, BEACH ACCESS, SNORKELING, KAYAKING, FUN, & PRIVACY!

I am writing this review as I sit on the lower covered patio watching the palm trees sway and listening to the waves on the shoreline on a beautiful Maui afternoon. We leave tomorrow and will miss our stay here. Let me say up front that we plan on staying here again.

We can truly say that we had as much fun just relaxing at the home as we did on some of our day trips around the island.  The home is in excellent condition and feels tropical and relaxing without being over the top. 

The snorkeling located directly behind the home and to either direction is excellent.  We saw turtles every single time we were out and at times there were literally a dozen or more feeding right behind the home.  Other things we saw were a resting white tip reef shark located about 30 yards offshore and about 50 yards down the shoreline to the south, zebra eels, a small eagle ray and tons of reef fish.  Visibility was excellent in the mornings when the wind was down.  

I stayed at Wailea on business for several days before coming down to Makena for our vacation.  I much preferred our time here.  The rental offers real value for the price!  You won't be disappointed.

Thanks again to our hosts!  We look forward to coming again soon!"

 
Sam and Shay (September 2010)

------------------------------------------------------

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home.  The view is absolutely gorgeous.  We could not ask for a better location.  It made our 1st visit to Maui memorable.  We look forward to visiting again.

Will and Rebecca (August 2010)

------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for making our honeymoon stay one to remember.  The views off the balcony, stars at night, ocean waves hitting the rock walls made it the best honeymoon we could ever want.  We hope someday to bring our kids here and share our memories with them.

January and Travis (June 2010)

------------------------------------------------------

This house is great.  We had an excellent time.  The views are amazing and the amenities were really nice.  The hot tub has a really nice view of the ocean.  We saw whales off the coast from the backyard.  One of the best areas to stay in Maui.  There's great beaches within a 5 minute walk or just a few minutes by car and you can launch a kayak right near the house.

Erica